top of page
Search

Making a report

Have you ever experienced moments where you know you have all the training and knowledge however you still need the confirmation from someone else, and clarity?

Well this happened to me when I needed the support and guidance off Rachelle in regard to making a mandatory report

I remember the day clearly when an educator came to me with his observations about the child. All the evidence was there, he had written conversations down, and what he had seen. He done all the right steps, with the next step being me. He provides me with all the documentation and explains every situation and moment well, and this step I know what to do, I need to login to my computer and use the decision tree with the educator. We do this and it comes back it is reportable, oh goodness I think to myself.

It is here where I stumble and doubt myself and my abilities. I have had all the training and know what I need for the phone call, but I still think ‘am I making the right decision’, do I have enough information, is there anything else I need to have with me to make the report, and the long list of doubt continues. But then I think, Rachelle, Rachelle will know what to do. I call Rachelle, I don’t go into detail, just like this blog, but I express how I have to call and make a report and have her go through with me all the relevant information I will need to have with me as I make the call. She provides me with reassurance, supporting me emotionally, as she just knew what to say in my panic moment.

- when I did call it was ok, it was a monitor moment 😊

I am forever grateful that I had Rachelle to lean on, and help gather all my thoughts, calm me down and provide the appropriate support for me. It is moments like these where the Educators need the support and reassurance, but I know not everyone has a Rachelle.

With it being Child Protection Week, I want to express the importance of making a report, but also to ensure you protect your own mental health and well-being, so don’t forget to reach out to someone that can provide you the accurate support and guidance.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

LIFE;

bottom of page